Perfectly Amazing English and a grand day out

Foofy valve rapid on the Steelpoort river

Perfectly Amazing English There is a short speech, delivered by movie character, in which I am amazed at the authors command of the language. The speech delivers, in a satirizing manner, a short, sharp political message that is the core of the movie’s plot, but it is done so well that it leaves you breathless in its artistry, and delighted in its prose.

What the speech, in plain words, says is: Here you see me, an old actor who has found himself on both sides of the issue, through the luck of chance. I present an alternate image, not because I am concerned by how I look, but as a statement of the cause of the people, who now cannot, or have forgotten, how to say what it is that they want. I stand here, encouraged, and I promise to remove the troublesome pests that are holding you to ransom in a cage of fear and violence. The original speech went: Voilà! In view, a humble vaudevillian veteran, cast vicariously as both victim and villain by the vicissitudes of Fate. This visage, no mere veneer of vanity, is a vestige of the vox populi, now vacant, vanished. However, this valorous visitation of a by-gone vexation, stands vivified and has vowed to vanquish these venal and virulent vermin van-guarding vice and vouchsafing the violently vicious and voracious violation of volition.

The original speech is from the movie, V for Vengance in which the character V announces himself to the heroine, and to the audience.  Remarkable.

I have just returned from seeing the Faithless concert in Johannesburg, and find myself buoyed with the last bits of energy a concert bestows upon one.. 🙂 I’m listening to Sweet Disposition by the Temper Trap, amongst others, and enjoying the ramblings of my thoughts, combined with that happy, tired, headiness that one finds one after a grand day out.

Jay

without days like these there would be no sadness, without sadness, there would be no ecstatic joy….

About rawhyde

Aircraft Manufacture, Engineering and Flying
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment